By-elections for Haverhill Town Council and St Edmundsbury Council will be held next week

UKIP candidate Tony Brown

UKIP candidate Tony Brown


A by-election for the two seats that were filled by the late Les Ager will be held next Thursday (January 9).

The Haverhill East seats are being contested for both Haverhill Town Council and St Edmundsbury Council.

There are four candidates vying for a place on the borough council.

Tony Brown is hoping to represent the town at borough level as well as his existing role on Suffolk County Council as he stands for the United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP), while former Haverhill mayor and town councillor Pat Hanlon is looking to joining deputy mayor Maureen Byrne and become the second Labour councillor representing Haverhill on the borough and only the fourth Labour representative among the borough’s 45 councillors.

Fellow tony councillor David Roach stands for the Tories while Ken Rolph aims to become the lone Liberal Democrat on the council.

There are only three candidates standing for the town council seat, with the Conservatives not putting anyone forward.

Ken Rolph again stands for the Lib Dems, while Liz Smith stands for Labour.

Paul Firman, usually seen selling fruit and veg on the Haverhill market, hopes to join Barry Robbins in becoming the second UKIP town councillor.

Voting will run from 7am to 10pm, with polling stations at the Chalkstone Community Centre in Strasbourg Square, East Town Park in Coupals Road and Haverhill Arts Centre in the High Street.

The count for both seats will be taken after polls close with the results announced the following morning.

The by election was triggered after Les Ager, who was twice mayor of Haverhill and in April was awarded a British Empire Medal (BEM) for his services to music in the town, died in his sleep on the night of October 23/24 aged 75 following a fight with leukaemia.

St Edmundsbury Council currently has 44 councillors – of those three are Labour, four are Independent and 35 are Conservative.

There is one UKIP councillor after Gordon Cox defected from the Tories and one Green councillor, but no Liberal Democrats.

Of Haverhill’s nine current borough councillors, seven are Tory, Maureen Byrne is Labour and Cllr Cox is UKIP.

Of the town council’s 15 councillors, nine are Labour, including the last three mayors, five are Tory and one is UKIP.

For all the latest news see today’s (Thursday, January 2) Echo.




Back to the top of the page