Home   News   Article

Conservatives romp home in Braintree and Saffron Walden

Braintree MP James Cleverly ANL-150805-122522001
Braintree MP James Cleverly ANL-150805-122522001

The conservatives comfortably held on to both Saffron Walden and Braintree, in each case increasing their majority, although the Liberal Democrats’ percentage of votes took a huge hit in each constituency.

After a sex scandal led to Brooks Newmark announcing he would not be standing for re-election, there was always going to be a new MP for Braintree, and James Cleverly was a clear winner for the Conservatives with a majority of 17,610.


He received 27,071 votes, a 53.8 per cent of the share and an increase of 1.2 per cent on 2010.

UKIP’s Richard Bingley came second with 9,461 votes, a huge jump of 13.8 per cent from five years ago and 18.8 per cent of the total votes cast.

Labour candidate Malcolm Fincken came in third, but only just, with 9,296 votes (18.5 per cent share), a 1.4 per cent drop on Labour’s 2010 performance.

The biggest loser was the Liberal Democrats, who saw its share of the vote drop by 13.8 per cent from 2010 after Matthew Klesel received just 2,488 votes, a 4.9 per cent share.

Paul Jeater (Green) won 1,564 votes, up 1.7 per cent and a share of 3-1 per cent.

Independent Toby Pereira polled 295 votes, a 0.6 per cent share and Paul Hooks of the British National Party received just 108 votes, 0.2 per cent of the votes cast.

The turnout in Braintree was 68.4 per cent

Conservative candidate Alan Haselhurst won the Saffron Walden seat, where he has been the MP since 1977, increasing his 2010 majority by 9,749 to 24,991

Mr Haselhurst polled 32,926 votes, taking 57.2 per cent of the vote, an increase of 1.7 per cent.

The biggest winner was UKIP candidate Peter Day, who came second with 7,935 votes (a 13.8 per cent share), giving his party a rise of 9.7 per cent on its 2010 performance.

Labour’s Jane Berney came third with 6.791 votes, a share of 11.8 per cent (up 2.1 per cent from 2010).

Liberal Democrat Mike Hibbs came fourth with 6,079, representing a 10.6 per cent share, a whopping 16.9 per cent down from 2010.

Karmel Stannard (Green Party) increased its share by 2.4 per cent in polling 2,174 votes, equal to 3.8 per cent of the total votes cast.

Coming last in Saffron Walden was Heather Asker, of Residents for Uttlesford, who won 1,658 votes, 2.9 per cent of the total votes cast.

The turnout for the constituency was 71.4 per cent.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More