Home   News   Article

More wards have been created for Haverhill and Hundon, Kedington and Clare will be merged in the new West Suffolk Council

Ward boundaries for the new West Suffolk Council have been published by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

And they show that under the newly-formed authority, Haverhill will be split into six divisions, two more than there are at present.

Although the proposal will see the number of wards for Haverhill reconfigured, it will still have ten councillors on the district council, the same number that it has now.

The new boundaries created for West Suffolk Council (4972142)
The new boundaries created for West Suffolk Council (4972142)

The two new Haverhill wards being created - Central and South East, will each have one councillor.

The South and West wards will both continue to have two councillors, but the North and East wards will drop from three councillors to two.

The government confirmed in May that a new West Suffolk Council will be formed of a merger between St Edmundsbury and Forest Heath councils.

The Commission has now finalised the wards which will be represented by West Suffolk’s 64 councillors.

Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are grateful to people across West Suffolk who took part in the review.

“The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout West Suffolk.”

In response to local feedback during the public consultation, the Commission has changed some of the proposals it put forward in July.

Further to the south, the Commission has been able to accommodate local consultation responses as part of its final recommendations.

For example, feedback on the draft proposals described the community links between the parish of Clare and the parishes of Stoke by Clare and Wixoe.

The parishes had been included in separate wards under the draft proposals but the Commission has now redrawn its boundaries so that they will all be part of a single Clare, Hundon & Kedington ward alongside other parishes.

Currently, Clare, Kedington and Hundon are are separate wards with a single councillor each.

The newly formed ward will have three councillors representing it.

The ward of Withersfield will also remain with one council representative, but a new ward of Whepstead & Wickhambrook, with one councillor, has been formed.

In response to local feedback, the Commission has made minor changes to its proposals in Haverhill. It has also changed the name of some of its proposed wards.

Towards the south of the new council area, the Commission has also changed its recommendations so that the parish of Rede will now be included in the Chedburgh & Chevington ward rather than Cavendish ward.

The Commission has responded positively to local views that described the close community ties between the parishes of Chedburgh, Depden and Rede.

The full recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at www.lgbce.org.uk.

A draft Order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming weeks.

The draft Order provides for the electoral arrangements to come into force at the council’s first elections in 2019.

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More