Home   News   Article

Haverhill students hard word rewarded by West Suffolk College

Students from across Haverhill were among those honoured for their outstanding achievements this week at the recent West Suffolk College annual Celebration of Achievement event.

Held at the 200-year-old Theatre Royal in Bury St Edmunds, the Oscars themed ceremony was hosted by Brad Jones, editor of the East Anglian Daily Times and Ipswich Star.

The event celebrated the achievements and hard work of students who have been outstanding in their subjects, whilst often facing adversity.

Awards were presented to over 55 students and each student was recognised for displaying one or more of the college character strengths: Ambition, Confidence, Curiosity, Optimism, Ownership, Resilience, Respect and Self-Control.

Each award was sponsored by local businesses who work with the college to help shape the future generation of employees across Suffolk.

The Haverhill students who received awards were Selina Coombes (Outstanding Beauty and Holistic Therapy student of the year); Ryan Gavin (Outstanding Milburn Centre Student) and Dean Wilding-Smith (Outstanding student of the year in Public Services).

Tutor Alison Hurrell who nominated 33-year-old Selina, for her award commented: “Selina is highly motivated, always smiling and has a very positive outlook.

“She shows resilience and determination in her learning and she demonstrates exceptional beauty therapy skills.”

Selina, who is also a mum to two children, is currently working at Bannatyne Health Club and Spa in Bury St Edmunds.

Dean Wilding-Smith’s tutor Mary Steeden said of him: “He is a conscientious caring young man who has developed and achieved so well on his course.”

Ryan Gavin has been commended for representing the Milburn Campus in his own time with outside events such as the South Suffolk Show and Suffolk Show.

West Suffolk College is partnered with the University of Suffolk, University of East Anglia and London Institute of Banking and Finance.

More by this author

This website and its associated newspaper are members of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More