Home   Sport   Article

Devonports crowned champions





Devonports Haverhill 5

Cambridge IV 0

Devonports Haverhill clinched the Division Four title after crushing a Cambridge IV side, who were also in with a chance of finishing in top spot.

Peterborough and St Neots were also vying for the title, however needing a minimum of 14 points on the night, Devonports started well with skipper Malcolm Day and Gary Last winning their matches.

Next was unbeaten Wayne Bamforth, who beat his young Cambridge opponent in four sets, 15-12, 18-20, 15-11, 15-5 to ensure Haverhill had the title-winning points in the bag.

Nathan Ttophi also retained his unbeaten record for the league season, as he came from a set down to win 13-15, 15-10, 15-9, 15-13.

Tony Archer completed the history-making season for Devonports by winning in five sets 10-15, 15-12, 15-7, 10-15, 15-6.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More