Home   Sport   Article

Double prize for Milne at awards

Haverhill Borough celebrated a successful 2015-16 season at their annual awards ceremony on Friday night.

With the reserves obtaining promotion to Senior B of the Kershaw League, and the first team winning the Thurlow Nunn League First Division Knockout Cup, departing chairman Ben Cowling reflected on the progress the club had made over the last 12 months.

With the club’s imminent move to its brand new facility set for the start of the 2016-17 season, the future looks bright for a club that only formed five years ago.

Cowling also thanked all the people who had been involved with the club over the year, including the committee, players and sponsors.

Daniel Pilley, managing director of Borough’s main sponsor CXG, presented the Supporters’ Player of The Year award at the ceremony.

Jonny Milne was voted by the club’s supporters as their player of the year and also took home the Players’ Player of The Year trophy as well.

Cameron Watson was selected as the Manager’s Player of The Year, while Matt Staines was the first team’s Top Goalscorer for the 2015-16 season.

Michael Austin was chosen as the Reserve Manager’s Player of The Year, with the team’s top goalscorer Dean Craig being voted the Players’ Player of The Year.

Following the main awards, the club made an emotional tribute to John Roper, the former committee member who died earlier in the year.

The renamed John Roper Award was presented by his wife Theresa to Aaron Kent for all his efforts with the reserves during the season.

n Haverhill’s Matt Morrison is one of seven Suffolk referees to have been promoted by the Football Association.

Morrison, along with Mildenhall’s George Byrne and Abi Marriott and Ipswich’s Andy Gray and Sean Kilbourn, achieved promotion to become a Contributory League Referee.

The promotion allows Morrison to referee up to Step Three (Ryman League Premier Division) and act as an assistant referee up to Step Two (National League North and South).

Lowestoft’s Jordan Sandwell and Bradley Mingay have been promoted to Supply League Referees.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More