Home   Sport   Article

Haverhill coast through in Hambro Cup

Haverhill’s Hambro Cup team will play at Halesworth on June 21 after sailing past Brett Vale after clocking up a fine winning margin of 21-up.

The competition format was foursomes, played over 36 holes at Haverhill on Sunday.

Haverhill’s Hambro captain, Chris Vince, reported that following the morning matches, the home side had already gained a commanding lead of 14-up.

During the afternoon they consolidated their advantage to win overall with a total of 21-up.

The morning foursomes results were (Haverhill players first): Chris Vince & Jack Warwick won 3up vs Terry Fenton & Chris Hamond, Andy Fish & Paul Bartlett won 3up vs Archie Robertson & Alan Ngai, Jack Bligh & Lewis Whiting won 5up vs S Woods & Nick Stinson, Dave Pipe & Dave Perrett won 3 up vs Jason Rea and Ross Christie.

In the afternoon foursomes Chris Vince & Jack Warwick won 10-up vs Terry Fenton & Chris Hamond, Andy Fish & Paul Bartlett lost 5-down vs Archie Robertson & Alan Ngai, Jack Bligh & Lewis Whiting won 1-up vs Nick Davis & Nick Stinson and Dave Pipe & Dave Perrett won 1-up vs Jason Rea & Ross Christie.

n Meanwhile, The Tolly Team had a close match at home against Felixstowe and just clinched the victory by one hole, the full results will follow next week.

n On May 11 the senior section contested the Wakeman Trophy in memory of Alan Wakeman, a former member at Haverhill Golf Club.

The competition format was a Stableford waltz played over 10 holes.

Senior captain, Roger Corbett and Alan Wakeman’s daughter Jo, gave the prize presentation afterwards and announced the winners as Brian Crosbee, Pat Mansfield, Derek Taylor and Ian Andrews.

n The Ladies’ Monday league winner was Val Shipp and the Mott Cup winner (Men’s Monday League) was Peter Deane.

Afterwards a special presentation was made to Shirley Wakeman for all her past efforts in raising more than £4,000 for the seniors’ fund from the weekly bonus ball draw and for organising the seniors’ dinner held annually in February.

n Haverhill Ladies played their Saturday medal on May 9 where Linda Alexander continued with her recent good form as she carded a superb nett 67 to reduce her handicap by two shots to 25.

Fiona Stokes finished in second place with a nett 74 and Gerrie Wheatley finished in third place with a nett 79 on count-back.

n The same day saw the Past Captain’s Trophy played involving a total of 15 past captains and their invited guests in a team event on a Stableford format, with three scores to count.

The winners, with 109 points, were Bob Spittle (captain 2014) and his team comprising Dave Spittle, Gary Neil (Braintree) and Graham Ashcroft.

In second place, on count-back with 108pts, were Gordon Price (captain 2013) and his team comprising Del Thomas, John Young and Pete McLennan.

In third place, with 108pts, were Dennis Harkness (captain 2009) and his team comprising Kim Ward, Geoff Dorkins and Dean Cornelius.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More