Home   Sport   Article

Whiting makes the cut as he lifts junior title

Haverhill Golf Club Juniors competed in the CAB Edwards Junior Club Championship.

The format was a 36-hole medal, played off white tees for the boys and red tees for the girls.

Lewis Whiting, who plays off a handicap of two, led the scratch competition following his three-over par morning round.

He went onto card a superb three-under par 67 in the afternoon to claim the overall victory with 73-67=140.

He reduced his handicap by a shot to one.

In second place was James Iron with 80+86=166 and Ben Bradnam was third with 88+84=172.

In the handicap competition, Ben Bradnam, who plays off a handicap of 20, and James Iron, who plays off a handicap of 12, were joint leaders following their morning rounds, both with a nett 68.

However, Ben went onto card an impressive nett 64 to claim the handicap trophy with a total of 68+64=132, and reduced his handicap by two shots to 18.

Lewis Whiting finished in second place with 71+65=136 and James Iron came third with 68+74=142.

A field of 64 golfers took part in the Woodlands Cup.

The pairs betterball stableford was played off a seven-eighths handicap with a handicap limit of 18.

John Kennedy and Paul Bartlett just had the edge to win on countback with 47 points.

The runners-up were Peter Amies and Neil Farenden with 47 and in third were Dave Spittle and John Young with 45.

Haverhill Ladies competed for the Fraser Plate.

The winner of the midweek competition was Denise Walker with 33 points, ahead of runner-up Siobhan Harrison (31) and third-placed Gerry Wheatley (29).

The Saturday competition was won by Julie Donno with 36 points.

Jenni Bradnam was second (33) and Pat Kennedy was third (30).

The overall winner of the two competitions combined was Julie Donno, who claimed the Fraser Plate.

The Men’s IFF Challenge saw some commendable scores, and the overall winner with a score of 42 points was Andy Gage, who has trimmed his handicap by a shot to 10.

Results: Division One - 1 Andy Gage 42pts, 2 Terry Lyons 38, 3 Lyndon Brown 37 c/b; Division Two - 1 Mick Dalena 38, 2 Mark Firman 37c/b, 3 Greg Kingston 37; Division Three - 1 Stan Goodall 41, 2 Mick Couzins 38, 3 Dick Sisman 37.

The Medal and M. Rayner Cup saw a field of 74 taking part.

Frazer Curl carded a superb round of 75-12-63 to claim the overall victory and slashed his handicap by three shots to nine under. Gary Cowley received a two shot cut, also under ESR, from 15 to 13.

Results: Division One - 1 Frazer Curl 75-12-63, 2 Neil Farlie 76-9-67, 3 Matthew Farlie 77-5-72; Division Two - 1 Gary Cowley 80-15-65, 2 Joe Davis 85-17-68 c/b, 3 Ciaran Brennan 81-13-68; Division Three - 1 Graham Hepworth 92-21-71, 2 Terry Archer 94-22-72, 3 Chris Gavin 96-23-73 c/b.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More