Home   Sport   Article

Winners revealed at Haverhill Golf club awards night

2015 Haverhill Gold Club captain Rob Viney, left, with club champion 2014 Lewis Whiting and lady captain Sheila Price. ANL-150324-103353002
2015 Haverhill Gold Club captain Rob Viney, left, with club champion 2014 Lewis Whiting and lady captain Sheila Price. ANL-150324-103353002

Haverhill Golf Club held its men’s presentation evening, hosted by PGA head professional, Paul Wilby and club manager Karen Daniels.

The winners were Captain Pro Challenge: Roger Hartley and Jack Bligh; Cecil Darken Cup: Malcolm Klingle; J Houchen Cup: Frank Gooch; Rehab Cup: Garry Webb.

Charlie Tapp and Pat Wellstead with the Bleasdale Cup ANL-150324-103758002
Charlie Tapp and Pat Wellstead with the Bleasdale Cup ANL-150324-103758002

R Woolmer Greens: Anthony Archer; M Rayner Cup: 1 Chris Gavin, 2 Matt Farlie; Woodlands Cup: Trevor Broomfield and Graham Ashcroft.

CAB Edwards Cup: 1 Daniel and Martin Bentley, 2 Roger Hartley and Terry Lyons; Touchwood Cup: 1 Dave Pipe and Dan Wilkins, 2 Gordon Price and Del Thomas; R Brown Cup: 1 Jack Warwick, 2 Daniel Bentley; Foundation Cup: Jack Bligh, 2 David Peck.

President’s Putter, sponsored by past president Chris Briggs: 1 Gavin Hatton, 2 Ryan Greenwood.

Social Committee Cup (mixed event), sponsored by Steve Ward: 1 Ollie Stevenson, 2 Alice Iron.

Spencer Woods Cup: 1 Richard Parker, 2 Terry Lyons; Signpost Paints Cup: 1 Paul Bartlett, 2 Jack Bligh; Mugs Cup, sponsored by Gordon Price: 1 Paul Abbott, 2 Roger Hartley.

HMP Foursomes: 1 Dave Pipe and Jack Bligh, 2 Allen O’Donoghue and Martin Mansfield; Rosebowl Final, sponsored by Bradnam Joinery: Aaron Tokley.

ASCO Cup, sponsored by Johnsons ApparelMaster: 1 John Annand and Nigel Taylor,2 Bob Spittle and Dave Pipe; Bob Hutchinson Cup (midweek medal final): Bartlett; IFF Challenge Trophy: Wayne Smith.

Stuart Darbey Cup (for most improved golfer for handicaps 15-28), sponsored by Doreen Darbey: Paul Abbott.

Hancock Cup (most improved golfer for handicaps 0-14): Martin Bentley; Seniors Club Championship Handicap: Ivan Drury, 2 Kim Ward; Seniors Club Championship Scratch Competition: 1 Gerry Scott, 2 Kim Ward; Tatum Trophy, sponsored by past president Spencer Tatum: 1 Simon Cousins, 2 Aaron Tokley.

The final award was made to Club Champion 2014, Lewis Whiting, who now plays off a handicap of scratch and during the 2014 season competed at national level for England in his age category.

Lewis, who is also a member at the Gog Magog Golf Club, announced he was making Haverhill his home club and would be happy to represent Suffolk and Haverhill in the county competitions in 2015.

Paul Wilby congratulated Lewis on his fantastic achievement and wished him, all the prize winners and the Haverhill members well for the forthcoming season.


Haverhill’s lady captain Sheila Price and Anna Fairhead competed at Newton Green in their first round match of the nationally organised event, the Daily Mail Foursomes.

The match was all square until their opponents, Emily Penfold (6 hcp) and Rosie Jackson (23 hcp) won the 12th hole and went on to win the match on the 17th.

Linda Alexander continued her recent form to win the Haverhill ladies’ midweek stableford with a commendable score of 33 points, five points clear of the runner up, Mary Sail, with 28. Jackie Condon was third with 25.

Condon won the Saturday stableford (26 points), Lyn Fish was second (20 ocb) and Anna Fairhead (20) third.

The midweek medal final’s field of 21 golfers comprised all the division winners from each of the midweek monthly medals played from April 2014 to March 2015.

The winner was Wayne Smith, who carded an impressive round of 82-14-68, reducing his handicap by a shot to 13.

Tim Daniels just had the edge on count back to finish as runner up with 82-11-71 and Andy Fish, who had the lowest gross score of 75-4-71, finished in third place.

Haverhill ladies played in a friendly at Hintlesham. Match results (Haverhill team first): Chris Grainger and Val Shipp won on the 18th against Alison Mitchell & Tina Shepherd. Sheila Price and Sheila Playle lost 3&2 to Barbara Curren & Jo Broom. Norma Humphrey and Siobhan Harrison won 4&2 against Maxine Roblin and Jing Steward. Ann Thompson & Pat Wellstead lost 4&2 to Karen Lewis & Brenda Penton. The overall result was match halved.

Haverhill juniors competed in their March Stableford over nine holes. The winner was junior captain, Dan Walker with 19 points, Josh Hulyer was second with 12 on count back and Fiona Stokes third with 12 points.

Stokes recently competed in the Suffolk Schools Girls’ event held at Hintlesham Golf Club where her school finished in third place overall as she returned an individual score of 38 points to reduce her handicap by a shot to 14.

The rosebowl final, sponsored by Bradnam Joinery, was contested by all the medal division winners throughout the 2014-15 season. The clear winner was Paul Chapman, who carded a superb three under par round of 89-22- 67 to claim the rosebowl and reduce his handicap by two shots to 20.

Simon Cousins was second with 79-10-69 and Dan Wilkins third with 82-12-70.

In the seniors’ section, Pat Wellstead and Charlie Tapp won The Bleasdale Cup.

A texas scramble was also played and the winners were Ian Andrews, Alan Whitfield, Howard Wood and Dave Parsons. Seniors’ vice captain Bob Hammett announced the Kernutt Cup was awarded to Pat Sheehy for his work in supporting the seniors’ section throughout 2014.

John Goddard accepted the trophy from Mrs Kernutt on behalf of Pat, who was not able to attend as he was away celebrating his golden wedding anniversary.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More